Month: April 2012

  • Tough Mudder prep

    It's still a long way off, but I was reading the ToughMudder.com site more carefully, particularly descriptions of common obstacles or "challenges" I'll encounter on the course. Some of these seem like they will be pure fun, like running through flames or jumping off a 15' high platform into a body of water-- that's just the old 3-meter board, no big deal.

    Others are purely athletic challenges, like the monkey-bar bridge, the rope climb, or the log-carry up a steep hill. I am training for those.

    But from the looks of it, some Tough Mudder "challenges" will be much easier to accomplish (or endure) if I bring the right gear with me. Like swim goggles (for the underwater section of the muddy sewer-pipe crawl), and a compact latex poncho (to get past the 10,000-volt wires). Although that latter trick might disqualify me. But I do not like electrical shocks.  

    And I'm thinking about the nature of the race in general, and what sort of gear and clothing would be most appropriate. Obviously I'll want clothing I can run in while soaking wet and muddy; I'll have to think carefully about shoes and socks (at least 10 of the 12 miles I'll be running wet).  Gloves came immediately to mind, and TM's own site affirms that guess.  Some lightweight knee protection for all the crawling, and also the rope climb.

    Then there's hydration, and sun protection if it's sunny-- it might be overcast and cold, or even raining. I must find out what the normal weather has been in the past, for that week!  Whatever the weather, staying hydrated during the whole strenuous event will be a significant issue. My current weekender pack has a hydration bag and tube in it, but the pack itself is way too big & heavy for this. Platypus bottles? Water bottles in belt holsters? Hmmmm...

    Open to ideas!

  • Team Fjeldheim to support the Tahoe Rim Trail

    Just met with Josh, Jamie, Kerry and Jason here at Fjeldheim to talk business, and none of them want to do the ToughMudder with me. They looked at me like I was crazy.  So I guess there will be no "Team Fjeldheim" doing the ToughMudder after all. (But "Team Fjeldheim" is going to do some cool stuff this coming calendar year, stay tuned!)

    But during our meeting, the idea did come up: how about raising money for a local charity? Next year will be Fjeldheim's tenth year in business, a good time to start giving back to the local Tahoe community somehow.  Since a good part of Fjeldheim's summer charm is the hiking, biking, and equestrian trails all around us, why not support the premier hiking, biking, and equestrian trail of the Tahoe Basin-- the Tahoe Rim Trail?

    All were in favor, so we will find out more about what that might look like. At the very least, we can run the ToughMudder in honor of the Tahoe Rim Trail Association, perhaps raise money or at least awareness of this great Sierra treasure. Right everyone? "Team TRTA?"

     

    ...crickets...

     

    Okay, so I'm still running the Tough Mudder Tahoe alone. But at least I'm doing it for a noble cause: support the Tahoe Rim Trail!

     

    If you haven't heard of the Tahoe Rim Trail, it's worth looking up. Their site has a good assortment of maps, lots of information, and a roll call of the 165 Mile Club, all those who have "through-hiked" the TrT all the way around.  I've wanted to hike the whole TrT every since I first heard of it.

    Trail maintenance takes constant vigilance, especially in the Sierras, where it's hard work to maintain high-country rugged trails like this one.