August 13, 2012

  • A different way to remember...

    Dang, the summer is almost over. Looks like I won't have time to raise funds for the Los Angeles Area Council via OTE, so I won't be rappelling off the Bonaventure this year... that is disappointing not only because inner-city Scouting is a vital cause that I support (as an Assistant Scoutmaster for Troop 848, as a Campmaster for the LAAC, and as a committee member and participant in this annual fundraising event "Over The Edge"), but also because I did that rappel in honor of my mom, Florence Nelson, who passed away September 25, 2009.  

    But the Tough Mudder can be an equally valid way to honor mom's legacy: she certainly could be one tough mom! I will come up with a way to represent her somehow. 

    I suppose participating in Tough Mudder, twelve miles of muddy madness, is a strange way to remember one's mother.

    But completing a Tough Mudder-- that is an excellent way to honor her.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *